India to begin it’s campaign against Pakistan in Women’s T20 World Cup

India play Pakistan in women world t-20 match

South Africa has proved to be a special place for Indian cricket, with India having won both the 2007 Men’s T20 World Cup and the 2023 U19 Women’s T20 World Cup. An opportunity to create a unique record awaits, as the Indian Women’s team gears up for the Women’s T20 World Cup, with our campaign starting against our neighbors and rivals Pakistan on Sunday, February 12.

Whatever one says, India and Pakistan encountering each other isn’t ‘just another game’. This match is not less than battles that test not just skills but also the nerves of the players. More than once has the match between the two in the Women’s T20 World Cup provided a nail biting and thrilling finish. Sunday evening’ s game is not going to be less than another treat for fans.

Groups fixture:

A total of ten teams from across the world are getting featured in the competition and have been divided into two groups- A and B.

Team India is placed in Group B which includes countries like England, Ireland, Pakistan and West Indies. The Women in Blue will play one match each against the mentioned countries in the group stages. For India to qualify for the semi-finals, they will have to finish in the top 2 in the points table in group B.On the other hand, Group A comprises countries Sri Lanka, Australia, Bangladesh, New Zealand and South Africa. In the group stages, following the same pattern like Group B, each team of Group A will play one match against each other. The top 2 teams with the highest points will qualify for the semi-finals.

Current world No.1 Australia have won this tournament five times, whereas England and West Indies have won once each. Australia began their Women’s T20 World Cup title defense on a resounding note with a comfortable 97-run win over  New Zealand. Australia gathered up a competitive 173 run score for nine after being asked to bat on Saturday.

India’s schedule for Women’s T20 World Cup:

Here’s a look at the schedule for India in the Women’s T20 World Cup

February 12: Sunday- Indian Women vs Pakistan Women, at Newlands, Cape Town

February 15: Wednesday- Indian Women vs West Indies Women, at Newlands, Cape Town

February 18: Saturday- England Women vs Indian Women, at St George’s Park, Gqeberha

February 20: Monday- Indian Women vs Ireland Women, at St George’s Park, Gqeberha

February 23: Thursday- Semi final match between A1 vs B2

February 24: Friday- Semi final match between B1 vs A2

February 26: Sunday- Final between the winner of above two

Women in blue won U19 T20 World Cup and believes the victory could help propel the senior team to spread its glory at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup. Whereas India’s senior team have yet to taste success in the seven editions of the Women’s T20 World Cup, they came close to the win last time the tournament took place when they fell to tournament hosts Australia in the final in 2020.

Leave a Comment