India Legends clinched the Road Safety World Series for the second time in the second edition of the tournament

Indian legends won the Road Safety World Series

Sachin Tendulkar-led team the India Legends have successfully defended their crown of champions in the Road Safety World Series 2022 organized in India. The final match was between the India Legends and Sri Lanka Legends at Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium in Raipur.

What is the Road Safety World Series?

The Road Safety World series tournament brings all the former cricketers and legends under one roof for a noble cause.

The Road Safety World series tournament has now officially come to a close and Sachin’s men have been invincible throughout the tournament. Amongst all the high-octane cricket that was played, it was Little Master’s batting abilities that took the world by surprise again. Tendulkar, who retired in 2013 looked in a strange touch bringing back all the memories of his legendary playing days for team India.

The India Legends clinched their second consecutive Road Safety World Series trophy after beating Sri Lanka Legends in the final of the 2022 edition and by 33 runs this time. Coincidentally, India Legends had also beaten Sri Lanka Legends in the Season 1 final held in 2021.

Opener Naman Ojha slammed 108 runs off 71 balls to help India Legends post 195/6 batting in the first inning in the T20 match. Four Indian batters registered single-digit scores while Sachin Tendulkar got out on a duck whereas Vinay Kumar (36) and Yuvraj Singh (19) were the only batters to provide meaningful support to Naman Ojha and Irfan Pathan added 11 runs to the inning.

Sri Lanka Legends were bowled out for 162 in just 18.5 overs. Vinay took three wickets, Mithun got two while Rajesh Pawar, Stuart Binny, Rahul Sharma and Yusuf Pathan got one each of the wickets. Vinay Kumar helped India Legends to make a fantastic start to the second innings of the match as he dismissed Sanath Jayasuriya in the second over of the match and Sri Lanka Legends kept losing wickets regularly after that and were reeling at 85/6 when Ishan Jayaratne (51) and Mahela Udawatte (26) registered a 63-run partnership to steady their inning. However, Udawatte falling to Abhimanyu Mithun and later Jayaratne to Vinay sealed the win in the match for India.

Naman Ojha was declared the Player of the Match in the finals for his match-winning century against Sri Lanka while Sri Lanka’s Tillakaratne Dilshan was named the Player of the Series for scoring 192 runs and picking five wickets in the overall tournament.

Playing XI of Sri Lanka Legends

Sanath Jayasuriya, Mahela Udawatte, Tillakaratne Dilshan(c), Upul Tharanga(w), Dilshan Munaweera, Ishan Jayaratne, Asela Gunaratne, Jeevan Mendis, Nuwan Kulasekara, Isuru Udana and Dhammika Prasad

Playing XI of India Legends

Naman Ojha(w), Sachin Tendulkar(c), Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Stuart Binny, Yusuf Pathan, Irfan Pathan, Rajesh Pawar, Abhimanyu Mithun, Rahul Sharma and Vinay Kumar

Leave a Comment