In a nail biting finish worthy of IPL 2023 (CSK vs GT), Chennai won off the last ball in a target of 171 which was a revised target. CSK is now to equal Mumbai Indians record of five IPL title wins. GT lost the toss and was sent to bat first in the match. Gujarat set a target of 214/4. Sai Sudharsan gave a major contribution of 96 runs from 47 balls.

After a lengthy stretch due to rain, Chennai’s new target was 171 runs from 15 overs. It further broke down to 13 runs off the last over. Mohit Sharma bowled four brilliant yorker balls to leave Chennai requiring a total of ten runs in last two balls. Ravindra Jadeja gave his maximum contribution and revived hope that CSK was losing.

The finishing ball from Mohit Sharma was a low full-toss on the pad of Jadeja which he swung towards left. The delivery went to the boundary, and then the batter went for a celebratory run. All of his teammates ran towards the field to celebrate.

While Jadeja did the perfect at his finishing job part, the chase was overall a great team effort by Chennai. Coming after a long rain delay, CSK openers Devon Conway and Ruturaj Gaikwad added 74 runs in 6.3 overs. They both as always showcased a brilliant partnership.

GT’s Noor Ahmad brought his team to absolute track after dismissing both the CSK openers in the seventh over of match. The third-wicket stand of 39 runs was between Ajinkya Rahane and Shivam Dube.

Rahane smashed two 4’s and two 6’s before getting dismissed to Mohit. Dube struggled to score for most part of his innings. He then smashed two sixes off Rashid Khan’s bowling.

Playing his last match, Ambati Rayudu smashed Mohit for 6,4,6 before leaving the field on the next ball. There was more of adventure when MS Dhoni was dismissed for a duck and that too golden one.

Jadeja although made sure that Dhoni lifts the title of IPL tournament.

Sai Sudharsan taking GT to a score of 214-4

Sai Sudharsan made 96 runs off 47 balss as Gujarat Titans scored a total of 214-4 after getting to bat first in the final match.

Shubman Gill made 39 off 20 whereas Wriddhiman Saha made 54 off 39. This concluded the 67 run partnership for the first wicket. Gill was lucky enough as Deepak Chahar dropped a catch off Tushar Deshpande. The Gujarat opener had scored only three runs by then.

There was a complete disappointment for Chahar after that, as he gave a six and two fours to Saha. In the fourth over of the match, Gill dismissed Deshpande for 3 of successive fours. There was further suffering for Chahar, as he dropped Saha off his own bowling initially fifth over.

In the last over of powerplay, Gill hit three fours off Maheesh Theekshana. It required a typical as quick as lightening Dhoni’s reaction stumping off Jadeja to end Gill’s batting. Saha kept going for his half century and was dismissed by Chahar.

Sai Sudharsan was batting on 36 runs off 25 balls after 14 overs. He then switched gears for his team. He smashed Theekshana for sixes over the midwicket.

This all continued as 20 runs came in the 17th over of the match bowled by Tushar Deshpande. Sai Sudharsan smashed the CSK bowler for a six and three fours on some consecutive deliveries.

In the penultimate over of the match, he whacked Pathirana for sixes before being trapped for a lbw. Meanwhile GT captain Hardik Pandya returned unbeaten at the end of the inning with 21 runs off 12 balls.


Devon Conway was the highest scorer in Chennai Super Kings in the final match of IPL 2023 as he scored 47 runs. Ajinkya Rahane, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Shivam Dube also had crucial roles in the game. Jadeja finished this match with his top brilliance. He also took Shubhman’s wicket earlier in the match.

For Gujarat Titans, Sai Sudharsan played very well, ending with a four short for a century he really deserved. Noor was brilliant with the outstanding figures of 2-17. At last CSK’s opener Conway was declared as the Player of the Match for his brilliant performance in the IPL 2023 final match.


Legendary cricket player Sunil Gavaskar has questioned Gujarat Titans and Hardik Pandya’s call to interrupt Mohit Sharma’s rhythm of bowling last over final. He further highlights that there was no need of sending water to have a discussion with Mohit Sharma who is an experienced fast bowler in such a high-pressure situation. It was especially disturbing as he had just started the over with some nailing and perfect yorkers.

Sunil Gavaskar further mentioned that there was no need of the captain or the head coach Ashish Nehra to disturb Mohit’s rhythm because he is a senior bowler. He can handle up his responsibility of bowling the final over to Shivam Dube and Ravindra Jadeja as Chennai Super Kings only needed 13 runs in this pressure situation.

Playing XI of Gujarat Titans in CSK vs GT:

Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Shubman Gill, Hardik Pandya (captain), Sai Sudharsan, Vijay Shankar, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Mohit Sharma, Rashid Khan, Noor Ahmad and Mohammed Shami

Playing XI of Chennai Super Kings in CSK vs GT:

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, Moeen Ali, MS Dhoni (wicketkeeper and captain), Matheesha Pathirana, Deepak Chahar, Tushar Deshpande and Maheesh Theekshana

ALSO READ: https://trendingsportsnews.com/ipls-4th-week-performance-analysis/

Leave a Comment